Florida  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
1/28/10, 10:05 am

Legal Question


I am considering buying a home on a canal. The problem is that it appears that a neighbor has built a fence and a dock on this property. The fence blocks access to most of the waterfront for the home I am considering. Per the survey from 2004, the property is supposed to have 45' of waterfront, but because of the fence and dock, I will only be able to access 10-12'. This is currently a rental property and the owner is unaware of the situation. The dock and fence appear to have been there for more than a year, but the wood has not weathered enough for it to have been there for more than 3 years. The fence and the dock were constructed without permits.

If I purchase the property, would I have any redress?

RTK, Palatka, Putnam County, FL


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search