Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Florida

Good evening -an unsecured creditor (credit card) placed a lien against my former home, titled in my son's and my name, which is now in foreclosure process. My son claims his counsel advises (a) debt now becomes secured and (b) unless satisfied, can prevent a potential short sale from going through. Is this valid? Almost sounds illogical; if valid why wouldn't every owner of an unsecured debt take steps to lien a piece of real property?

Thank you.

Asked on 7/11/11, 3:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A credit card company does not and cannot just file a lien. The debt is not a lien until there is a lawsuit and a judgment, which is the basis for the lien.

Read more
Answered on 7/11/11, 7:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now