Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

Is an apartment in Puerto Rico bound by the Florida law that gives the surviving spouse 30% of all assets? My father died recently, and his wife (our stepmother) plans to live in his Florida apartment -where they lived-unitil she dies. That, we understand, complies with the law. But he owned an apartment in PR too, which he left us. Can she claim that property too, or 30% of its value?

Asked on 3/16/10, 6:14 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed


Read more
Answered on 3/22/10, 6:35 am
Frank J. Pyle Probate Attorney Throughout Florida
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If David Slater says "yes", it could be so.

Read more
Answered on 3/24/10, 7:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now