Georgia  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/25/08, 5:06 pm

Stock holder share calculation

When a company has 1000 Shares capital stock owned by three share holder split by51%, 39% and 10% respectively, does each share represent itself (example 19 shares = 19 shares or 19 shares =19%)

3 Answers


Answered on: 6/25/08, 5:42 pm by Keith Reisman

Re: Stock holder share calculation

Since there are 1000 shares, each share is equal to 1/1000 of all the shares which is in turn equal to 0.1% of the total shares. In your example, 19 shares equals 1.9% of the total. 190 shares would equal 19% of the total of 1000.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Reisman Law Chattanooga, TN 37412-2602

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/25/08, 5:52 pm by Scott Riddle

Re: Stock holder share calculation

You basically asked a math question, so you are going to get math answers. You provided no context or reason why you asked. In some cases, the number of shares counts. The percentages are also important. You also do not say how much of the stock is actually issued and outstanding.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/26/08, 9:09 am by Glenn M. Lyon, Esq.

Re: Stock holder share calculation

Percentage ownership pertains to a percentage of the issued shares of a corporation. E.g., 10% of 1000 is 100 shares. But note that there are also authorized shares, the number of shares the corporation is permitted to issue to shareholders, basically a cap on the number of shares that can be owned.

If you would like to discuss any issues further, please feel free to contact my office. My contact information is below. Thank you.

The foregoing is general information only, not specific legal advice. No attorney/client relation has been created or should be implied.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


MacGREGOR LYON, LLC, Business Attorneys 1230 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 3750 Atlanta, GA 30309

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search