Georgia  |  Credit and Debt Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/17/13, 7:29 am

I was in an auto accident 2 years ago that took the life of my husband of 35 years and severely injured me. We had no insurance due to our low income. I was transported by air ambulance to a hospital 30 miles away. When I was able to work again as a cleaning lady, I started making payments to my 10 + medical creditors. I could only afford to make 10 - 20 dollar a month payments. Most of the medical creditors wrote some of the debt off and and accepted my payments, except one. The Air Ambulance (Life Net) demanded $28,000 and rejected my payments. They demanded far more that I could pay. I furnished them copies of tax returns and cash flow documentss to document my low income of less than $400.00 per week. I am now being sued by Life Net. I was unconscious at the time and was put on the Air Ambulace without my permission. Has I known and was able to respond, and was told I was going to be charged $29,000 I would have asked to be taken by ground ambulance and taken my chances. I survived only to have a chance to lose every thing and be reduced to poverty and crushing debt for the rest of my lfe. My question is, am I liable since someone on the site made the decision to call the Air Ambulance, not me or anyone related to me?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/17/13, 9:56 am by Scott Riddle

Yes, you are liable. If you have overwhelming debt, about the only thing you can do is consider seeing a Bankruptcy lawyer in your area.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/17/13, 10:51 am by Rachel Hunter

Yes you are liable. The standard is not whether you were conscious and called them.

Your best option is to file bankruptcy and get all of your debts discharged in a chapter 7.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/17/13, 11:41 am by Glen Ashman

You are liable. The good news is that you likely do not have to pay your medical creditors, if you file Chapter 7. My office handles those in your county, and this would finally free you of this burden. Make sure you get started within 30 days of when you were sued. My phone number is 404-768-3509.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search