Legal Question in Criminal Law in Georgia

My home was broken into and several items (laptop, printer, tv, DVD, etc.) were stolen. Local police made a report of the incident. Days later I found out that an ex-boyfriend had something to do with it and I went to his address. Upon arrival he called the police on me, advised the cop that he didn't have my things, then changed his answer and said that I had given him my things and filed an insurance claim. I advised the cop that the information was false and that I never gave he my things, I also provided him the case number for the theft. He asked if I had rented ins, I replyed yes, so he called the INS company to verify the claim file (no pymt issued). However the cop stated that he was told the claim was filed days before the theft was reported to the local police and he arrested both my ex and myself for theft by deception. Later it was proven that the claim was filed after the theft not before, but the damage had been done. I had never been arrested or in trouble for anything and now I'm facing charges of theft by deception with the victim listed as the insurance agency. What did I steal? How can I clear this up? Can it be dismissed and if so how? And was the cop within his right to arrest me for trying to get my things back?

Asked on 7/29/10, 2:28 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

People who get arrested for serious crimes obviously need a lawyer, and not an internet forum.

Read more
8/03/10, 10:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now