Legal Question in Criminal Law in Georgia

I was recently arrested for having less than 1 ounce of marijuana. I went to jail, stayed 2 nights and 3 days. I am 19 years of age. My parents have been divorced since I was 3 years of age. I have lived with my mom all my life except for 1 and 1/2 years from the age of 17 until 18 and 1/2 years of age. My dad bailed me out of jail. He has hired an attorney who is also his friend. My dad is extremely upset, angry and hurt with me because I refuse to live with him, even though he bailed me out. He feels that I am indebted to him and should therefore live with him for the bail out. If people truly knew my dad, they would understand why I refuse to live with him. Since he knows the lawyer, is there any way he can have the lawyer stipulate that I must live with my father while on probation?

Asked on 7/09/12, 4:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your lawyer works for you and not your father no matter who pays him. Talk to the lawyer. If the lawyer is not acting in your interests, fire him, and go hire your own.

Read more
Answered on 7/09/12, 4:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now