In the state of Georgia, Carroll County how can you be charge with convicted felon with possession of firearm and there's no gun?
4 Answers from Attorneys
If you want a meaningful response, rather than ask us to play a guessing game, you need to ask a specific question with facts. However, if you are charged with this crime, it would be stupid to post admissions. The person charged with this serious crime should have already called a good criminal lawyer.
(1) Someone sees you with a gun
(2) You text a photo of you and a gun
(3) You brag to someone at a bar about possessing a gun
(4) Someone sees a gun inside of your home
(5) 100 other ways.
It is a really bad idea to go online, give lawyers no facts and ask for a useless wild guess.
A smart idea would be for you to hire a lawyer - yesterday would not be too soon. Since you are facing prison, that isn't optional - it maters.
Mr. Lewis' response gives you some of the ways, and it is always up to the prosecutor to prove that you indeed possessed a firearm beyond a reasonable doubt. It does not take much to be charged with such possession, it takes much more to convict. If someone sees you with a weapon, they must come to court and the prosecutor must prove that it was a firearm. If there is a photo, whoever took the photo must come to court to establish that it is you in the picture and that the date it was taken was after your conviction, etc. Get a lawyer and make the state prove it.
Related Questions & Answers
What are the legal rights of a person who used their first offender rights,... Asked 6/11/13, 1:56 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I was recently charged with a disorderly house in GA. I called 911 because of a... Asked 6/11/13, 9:16 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
My Husband was driving from a friends house to come pick me up from my sisters... Asked 6/11/13, 7:23 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
Is it considered pandering if I asked a police decoy, in a prostitution sting, to... Asked 6/07/13, 9:41 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I'm 22 years old and live in georgia. If I have sex with a 17 year old, could I get... Asked 6/06/13, 9:57 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law