Legal Question in Elder Law in Georgia

My mother is 73 and will be entering a nursing home in the very near future. She suffers from Dementia .Her doctor has recommended that she apply for medicaid.She does not own a home or car.She does have a whole life insurance policy in the amount of 10,000.Will this prevent her from qualifying for medicaid?her only income is social security.

Asked on 4/01/13, 11:07 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

What you left out is the cash value of the policy. That may matter. The death benefit does not.

Read more
4/01/13, 11:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now