Legal Question in Employment Law in Georgia

Is backdating documents legal?

My job requires all employees use a swipe card to document hours worked. Company policy states I am tardy at 5 mins. after my shift begins. Documents re: tardiness are to be completed on the day of the infraction. If these documents were not completed, can my employer come to me and ask me to sign and date documents for tardies that occurred months ago? Thank you.

Asked on 11/15/06, 12:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Is backdating documents legal?

That is an employer policy issue, and you don't state what happens if you sign or don't sign.

Read more
Answered on 11/15/06, 1:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now