Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Georgia

I am in a lease purchase and one of the stipulation was that if I did not secure financing I would forfiet the deposit, but also there was an addedum that while I was paying the monthly rent of 1100.00 I paid 250.00 additional making the monthly payment 1350.00 which 250.00 was to come back to me as an additional down payment, nowbecause I could not secure the finance by the end of the lease the owner wants to keep all the monies which totals around 11000.00. I understand about the 5,000.00 not receiving that back but the additional 250.00 per month above the 1100.00 ,onthly payment I am supposed to get tha back, as I stated now the owner wants to keep all of the money, can they do that?

Asked on 7/22/13, 10:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glenn M. Lyon, Esq. MacGREGOR LYON, LLC, Business Attorneys
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It really depends on the exact wording of the lease purchase agreement. Have a local attorney to review it and advise you.

Read more
7/23/13, 6:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now