Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Illinois

My fiancÚ and I are in the process of moving our of our apartment that we have lived in for four years. Our landlord hasn't fixed any problems we have had and as of right now our sewage is backed up and has been since Saturday July 13. We are a little behind on our rent mostly because in the winter the electric is outrageous. We learned today why the landlord hasn't fixed the septic. He is filing bankruptcy. Would we still have to pay him for our back rent of he is filing on the place we are living?

Asked on 7/18/13, 5:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Henry Repay Law Offices of Henry Repay
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

He or the bankruptcy trustee would have the same rights to pursue a claim, subject to the same defenses that may or may not exist. The question is whether either would bother at this point.

Read more
7/19/13, 4:11 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now