Legal Question in Business Law in Illinois

i bought a car from florida but live in illinois paid the title and reg fees on the sales contract and now they want more money before sending me my plates and have put a lien on the title

Asked on 6/04/13, 4:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

What is the question? You may still owe sales tax if the base tax here is more than in FL. We all call it "sales tax" but in reality its a "use tax" and if you use the car in IL, you pay the tax....

Read more
Answered on 6/05/13, 2:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88433 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Scott RiddleLaw Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLCAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now