Legal Question in Business Law in Illinois

Can a company I did business with hold payment on a past due invoice until I give him a Certificate of Insurance (in IL)? Before preforming the work, he did not ask for one or give me any information on his company to get one. Nor were we under any contract. I don't have any insurance.

Asked on 9/27/12, 9:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If your contract did not require you to have insurance in place, then no. But without reviewing everything it's impossible to say one way or the other.

Read more
Answered on 9/29/12, 10:15 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Illinois


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88693 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now