Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Illinois

How long can the police hold a person for questioning in Illinois before they have to either bring forth charges or release them?

Asked on 5/31/13, 11:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Chen Kasher Chen Kasher
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

They can hold the person for as long as they'd like, but the person is free to go and can ask to leave. Generally, the person also has a right not to speak with them in the first place.

Read more
6/02/13, 7:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Civil Rights Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now