Illinois | Technology Law
Legal Question
Internet Stalking
I filed a restraining order against my (at the time) brother-in-law last fall. it was granted for 2 years. Shortly after a ( I thought) nice sounding man came on line and wanted to chat and be penpals. I didn't give out any personal details and we started to communicate four times a week, via IM and emails. this built into romantic emails and e-cards. it has went on for over 6 months. I just found out it was my (now) ex-brother-in-law who was doing this when he sent me a web cam picture with a message saying, this isn't over, I'm not done with you yet!Is this a violation of the restraining order, or is it my fault for answering a message and becomming a penpal.Also is there some kind of stalking violation, he premeditated this and perpetuated this for over 6 months and he knew he was'nt supposed to contact me in any way shape or form? don't want to go to the police and look stupid and ''CRY WOLF' but also don't want to keep being a target for him either. what can I do? thanks.


