False police report
If your spouse was convicted of a misdemeanor for domestic and you called the police in the heat of an argument and said he hit you, but really you hit him.The state has asked me to testify against him as their witnesses. Now the States's Attorney's office wants to press charges on him and give him a felony. They continued the first court date because I wrote them a letter stating what really happened and they wanted to talk to me. Now I went in there and spoke to the State's Attorney investigator and gave them a recorded statement and said that I lied on the 911 tape because I wanted him out of my home and he wouldn't get out and we were arguing but no physical contact was made by anyone but me. What is your prediction of the outcome? What is going to be my punishment?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: False police report
Filing a false police report is a felony under the disorderly conduct statute. I believe it's a class 4 felony which carries a sentence of probation, or 1 to 3 years in prison, and/or a $2,500.00, fine. It isn't perjury because there is no statement under oath. You better get a lawyer. I can't tell where you live based on your zip code, but if you're near Chicago, please call for a free consultation.
Related Questions & Answers
Domestic Violence Enhanced Offense My husband has served time in prison for domestic... Asked 1/25/06, 12:06 am in United States Illinois Criminal Law
Not criminal,just spoiled? My 17 year old's(and new mom)''whealthy'' paternal... Asked 1/20/06, 8:02 pm in United States Illinois Criminal Law
Hit my boyfriend I was in jail and im bond hearing was yesterday for hiting my... Asked 1/17/06, 7:14 pm in United States Illinois Criminal Law
? on Extension of plenary Order of Protection I had a Order of Protection served on... Asked 1/13/06, 12:28 pm in United States Illinois Criminal Law
What will happen in court? My boyfriend(R) is being charged with home invasion and... Asked 1/12/06, 12:14 pm in United States Illinois Criminal Law