My friend and his wife are getting a divorce. Last night he was woken from a sound sleep and she started an argument. Their 17 year old son also started in. She told him she was calling the police (there was nothing physical). He threw his shoes on and left. I later verified with the police that there was nothing physical and no report or complaint had been filed but they had been called to the residence. He just can't decide if he should push up his time table for moving out or stick it out until the divorce is final.
1 Answer from Attorneys
Stay out of this. He should be talking to his divorce lawyer. That being said, there are "two" kinds of divorces in Illinois: one on traditional grounds (like adultery or physical cruelty) and the other on "irreconcilable differences". The latter techincally requires the parties to live separately for a period of time, but there are ways "around that" and many people who can't afford to live separately wind up living under the same roof during the divorce. Either way, this is his choice especially if he knows that at the end of the day he will have to move out anyhow. If he is doing this for his son's sake, that is even a bigger mess. Stay out of it. Being a friend just means being supportive, not rendering legal advice or making decisions.
Related Questions & Answers
Illinois 720ilcs 5/10-5.5 section d i have ask the city police,county police and... Asked 10/15/13, 1:55 am in United States Illinois Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
My 17 year old son just moved back to his mothers home after living with me for the... Asked 10/14/13, 9:41 am in United States Illinois Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
If I am 17 and pregnant in illinois could I move out could I be emancipated? I'm... Asked 10/11/13, 5:04 am in United States Illinois Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
Good evening, My ex and I have a 7 year old daughter together (we were never... Asked 10/10/13, 9:30 pm in United States Illinois Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption
I was 16 and signed a birth certificuit for a child I was told was mine. 8 years... Asked 10/10/13, 3:30 pm in United States Illinois Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption