Illinois | Legal Malpractice
Legal Question
Found out our Attorney's firm has represented other party
My wife has a legal plan through her employer. In March of 2008 we went to an Attorney to fight a property tax hike. I told the Attorney that it wasnt about the money, but about a neighbor that was bringing our property value down, and I also wanted a demand letter sent to the same neighbor who came onto our property and cut down 7 14ft. trees. we waited a Month, and after many attempts got in contact with the Attorney to find that she ''missread the paperwork, and wasnt able to file the paperwork in time''. We left it at that and went onto the demand letter. It wasnt until June that we finally met with her, and she sent out the demand letter. Finally in Nov. she called and told me the neighbor was really sorry, and he would replace the trees himself, or give me 1/3 of our lowest estimate. When I declined the Attorney got rude and told me if I goto small claims court I'll lose because thats all the neighbor has to do! I thought that she acted more like his Attorney than ours. so I checked the neighbor criminal record on the Internet, and found that her law firm has represented him for years, and in many cases. Can I sue the Attorney for mal-practice?


