Illinois | Product Liability
Legal Question
Hello,
The alternator on my 2003 Mini Cooper failed and needed to be replaced. I purchased an aftermarket alternator for $169.99 at a national auto parts chain, and had it installed by a professional auto electrical shop for $278.41. Once installed, the alternator would not engage on each engine startup unless the engine was revved above 3000 RPM. The alternator would then engage and the car would operate normally.
A few days later the airbag light came on. I had the auto electrical shop recheck their work and they told me the alternator I had purchased was defective. I then took the car to the Mini Dealership, who also confirmed the alternator was defective. More importantly, the alternator had actually damaged my airbag control module rendering my airbag system useless. This explained why the airbag light was illuminated.
I had the dealership remove the alternator, install an OEM BMW one, and replace the airbag module. This all came at a cost of $1605.48. I then took the alternator back to the auto parts chain and had them refund my $169.99.
The alternator was returned to the manufacturer for inspection. They claim to have tested the alternator and say it is perfectly fine. My experiences and both the Mini Dealership and the auto electrical shop say otherwise.
Is it possible to get the manufacturer of this faulty part to pay for the damages it caused? This alternator could have caused injury or death because it fried my airbag control system.
Thank you in advance for your help and advice!


