Parents owned rental home in Arkansas. It was all written off over the years. They sold it. They are both 87 years old. Do they have to pay quarterly taxes and will they incur penalty for not doing so the first two quarters of the year?
1 Answer from Attorneys
The information in your inquiry is incomplete to fully address your question. Generally, one must pay estimated taxes to the IRS (1040-ES) if expected 2011 taxable income exceeds $1000, with various exceptions and provisions. If parents have sold the property, paid any taxes due, and no longer receive income from the property, no quarterly taxes or penalties apply. If they sold the property in 2011, their 2011 1040 should include the sale of the rental property. Depending on the amount of any capital gains, date of closing, or other income from the property or other sources, a filing of 1040-ES to pay estimated taxes may be required. A description of relevant facts relating to the tax issues is required for a specific response.
Related Questions & Answers
To Whom It May Concern: I am the sole owner of my clinic, a P.C., and I am also an... Asked 8/28/11, 11:59 am in United States Illinois Tax and Taxation Law
This is regarding municpal law. I recieved my utilities bill for water, sewer and... Asked 8/16/11, 12:16 pm in United States Illinois Tax and Taxation Law
If a person has a short sale, they are taxed on the deficiency amount correct? If a... Asked 7/27/11, 10:30 am in United States Illinois Tax and Taxation Law
When a woman marries half way thru the year, can she still file separately that year... Asked 7/13/11, 9:05 am in United States Illinois Tax and Taxation Law
My fiancée and I bought a business in Illinois in June of 07. In June of 09,... Asked 6/16/11, 7:07 am in United States Illinois Tax and Taxation Law