Indiana  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
10/01/09, 7:33 pm

Legal Question


What legal issues may ensue if an Indiana RN administers Propofol for procedural sedation? Indiana Nurse Practice Act does not offer specific guidelines for this activity.

The Propofol medication insert has the following warning, "For general anesthesia or monitored anesthesia care (MAC) sedation, propofol injectable emulsion should be administered only by persons trained in the administration of general anesthesia and not involved in the conduct of the surgical/diagnostic procedure.

Thank You


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search