Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Iowa

I got a bill from my apartment complex for cleanup. I cleaned the apartment and took pictures. I think they are trying to bill me for my evicted roommate's room who had a lease with them also. He left all his property there, and the apartment management left it there for about a year and a half. I didn't dare touch it because I didn't want to get taken to court by my ex-roommate. I contacted them multiple times about his property, and the most recent was certified mail. Now they're trying to bill me for cleaning up the evicted guy's property.

I live and rented in Iowa; we both had individual leases; he got served and evicted.

Asked on 7/08/13, 4:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If what you say is correct you can not pay and let them sue you. Of course that will ruin your credit. I'd suggest having a lawyer write them a nastygram. It works wonders.

Read more
Answered on 7/09/13, 5:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now