Iowa | Personal Injury
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: J D Haas |
Yes and no. If you are a defendant and a plaintiff gets a judgment against you the plaintiff will get a lien on your home if they follow the proper procedure to get a judgment lien (I am assuming that this is your homesteaded property). That will NOT force you to move or to sell, but if you do sell within 10 years, and this lien can be renewed for another 10 years after that, then you have to pay the lienholder in order to give clear title to the property.\n\nIf the judgment is related to financing on the property, for example, a default on your mortgage, then the mortgage company can evict you from the property after foreclosure. Please let me know if this does not answer your question. J D Haas |
Top Attorneys in IA
Lombardi Law Firm
West Des Monies, IA
Questions Answered: 352
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Peter M. Soble, P.C., Attorney
Rock Island, IL
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-30
Lawsuit Financial Corporation
Southfield, MI
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-13
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Harris Kuhn Law Firm, LLP
Omaha, NE
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-05-19
Hudson, Mallaney, Shindler and Anderson, P.C.
West Des Moines, IA
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-29
McCarville Law, P.L.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-11
Hansen Law Offices
Burlington, IA
Questions Answered: 3
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-02-01
Krug Law Firm, P.L.C.
North Liberty, IA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Kreamer Law Firm, P.C.
West Des Moines, IA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


