Legal Question in Telecomm Law in Iowa

I'm currently looking into the possibility of transferring my cell phone # to a voice over IP address and I called my cell phone provider, like I was requested to do from my possible voice over ip service provider, and cell provider told me that they have my current # through a 3rd party reseller and so they can't release the cell phone #.

Is this legal? I thought I was able to transfer that # at anytime. After all I thought that it was mine not anyone else's.


Asked on 12/13/10, 7:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I do not think you have a property right in the number-the company lets you use it. What's wrong with cancelling your cell phone contract and getting another number?

Read more
Answered on 12/19/10, 8:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Telecommunications Law questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now