Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Iowa

My monther-in-law died rather suddenly. She left behind a special needs daughter and a son (my husband) who is executor and guardian for his sister. She has a home and personal possessions worth about $120K. She also has investments worth $100K. The home/personal items fall under the will which stipulates a trust needs to be set up for the daughter. However, the investments have a beneficiary set up to split the money equally, with no trust specified. Can the money from the investments be put in a trust after the fact?

Asked on 4/30/13, 11:19 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The answer is probably not. On the other hand, your husband can certainly take his share and use it to fund the existing trust.

Read more
Answered on 5/01/13, 5:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now