Kansas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
False Arrest
My sister and husband had an argument and the neighbor came out yelling about beng sick of hearing it and went after my sister. My sister called the police. They came but went to the neighbor first. The neighbor lied and told the police that my sister and husband abuse their daughter and they fight all the time. The police then went to my sister's. Apparently, my sister had thrown a coffee cup at the wall in the kitchen and broke the handle off of it. To get somewhat to the point, the police ended up arresting my sister (and didn't read her her rights) for destruction of property (the cup), battery and disorderly conduct. They also put a restraining order on her, restraining her from being around her husband. Her husband tried to explain that she didn't do anything but they were unreasonable. They are also trying to take my niece away from my sister and her husband. Now, my sister has to go to court but cannot afford an attorney. What, if any, advice can you give me to help her?
Legal Answers
Top Areas of Law


