Kansas | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
Gay son
I work for a sales office made up of independent contractors. I, the office manager, and 3 other office staff are ''employees''. One of the other 3 employees is my son who is gay. One sales rep badgers me and my son everytime he comes into the office about my son's homosexuality. I am very uncomfortable, don't want to hear that kind of talk, and find it hurtful not just to me but my son. I feel I constantly have to justify his value to the company as well as why I, as a mother, love him. I am subjected to terrible language describing things that I don't want to think about. We recently were sent out of state to a convention and none of the men would share a room with him because they said it was the same as placing them in a room with a girl. I have asked the owner to address this kind of talk but nothing is being done. Hardly a day goes by without something being brought up about this and he has been with the company two years now. I don't know if there is a law against this or what it would be, but hostile work environment is a word that comes to my mind.


