I was arrested about 4 months ago for a DUI. My arraignment date was Nov. 10th and I was told that day, the state had not formally charged me yet. My question involves my right to a speedy trial. Does the state have a specific period of time to formally charge me?
1 Answer from Attorneys
If the State asked for a continuance four months ago, you may be able to request taht the charges be dismissed. The Judge may feel that four months is not too long (many cases go longer) and your request may move you to the head of the line in the Prosecutor's eyes. But, if it wa syou that requested a Continuance at your Arraignment, (such as for time to get legal counsel) then the State has not extended the time, you have. Generally, if they hav ento formally charged you within a year, you may be successful in getting the case dismissed. It is curious that you had an arrignment, but you sy you were not charged. Since you could do jail time, you should probably consult directly with an attorney in your area, rather than on general answers to your generalized questions online. Many attorneys offer a free or low cost initial consultation.
Related Questions & Answers
Got a DUI in the State of Kansas. First offence, I didn't blow what is most likely... Asked 10/31/10, 5:01 pm in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Is there a way to get a restricted license to and from work if the state has taken... Asked 10/27/10, 9:29 am in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
In johnson county kansas, does it matter if you refused a breathalyzer test vs... Asked 10/22/10, 6:05 pm in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I got a dui and child endangermet charge against me . i have no attourney if i go to... Asked 9/19/10, 11:10 pm in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
My house was hit by a drunk driver 4 years ago! The driver did not have insurance!... Asked 8/22/10, 2:34 pm in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law