My house was hit by a drunk driver 4 years ago! The driver did not have insurance! My insurance company ultimately dropped/closed the case. I had to pay the $1000 deductible! It was such a mess & drug out so long, I didn't pursue my own attorney. Now, I'm wondering if I should have?? How long is too long after an accident? And would it be worth it after attorney fees? Thanks a bunch!
1 Answer from Attorneys
I assume the incident happened in Kansas. Without knowing more about the facts of the case, it appears that your claims would likely be subject to a two year statute of limitations. The statute of limitations started running at the time of the incident. As such, your claims are most likely barred due to the expiration of the statute. Another rule may apply if a lawsuit was ever filed. If a lawsuit is filed and then dismissed voluntarily, then the suit may be refiled within one year of the dismissal. If you think that may have happened, then you should follow up with an attorney.
Related Questions & Answers
My husband was convicted of dwi in kansas johnson county in 1999 he did everything... Asked 7/21/10, 12:49 pm in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
If son was arrested in Kansas for a DUI but we reside in Colorado which State should... Asked 7/05/10, 11:38 am in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Can you get a dui on your own private property? or does the owner of the property... Asked 6/14/10, 11:20 am in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
My step-son has had multiple DUIs and currently has an ignition interlock device on... Asked 6/06/10, 8:46 am in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I was arrested for DUI, but was not driving, nor in my car, nor near my car. It was... Asked 4/19/10, 5:33 am in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law