Kentucky | Insurance Law
Legal Question
sued from a fall down stairs
I am being sued by a person who fell down my stairs. I was on vacation at the time and do not know for sure if the person was even at my home. My insurance company offered the person $1000 as a standard for any accident on my property. This person has some severe injury due to the fall which required surgery to repair. This persons attorney is asking to take pictures of my stairway and other areas of the house. the stairway is carpet (1 year old). But did not have a handrail. There was no handrail there when I purchased the home 2 years ago. This person has been in my home and on this stairway many times befor (over 50). The insurance company will not provide me with an attorney untill the person officially files suit. I have only recieved letters from the persons attorney so far. Should I allow the attorney in my house to take the pictures? Should I be doing anything to protect myself if my insurance coverage is less than what this person is awarded in a court? should I trust the insurance company or do I need to hire a lawyer on my own?


