Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Louisiana

collecting money

I paid for someones dog to have surgery for a broken leg and have since cared for her for over a month. The girl has not come to see her in that time. Overall in medical bills the cost is $900. She wants to come get the dog but I said she cant have her until she pays me back. How much time do I have to give her to pay me back?

Asked on 8/26/08, 9:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Louque The Louque Law Firm, L.L.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: collecting money

You really have no right to hold her dog until she pays you. You can sue her for whatever she owes you, but the dog is not "collateral."

Read more
8/27/08, 12:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now