Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Louisiana

real estate in Louisiana

If a home sat on 10ft of someone else's property for over30 years and no one said anything until now and they wanna sell them that land or have them move the home is it still legal for them to have it moved after that long?

Asked on 6/09/08, 6:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nick Pizzolatto, Jr. Pizzolatto Law Office

Re: real estate in Louisiana

Acquisitive presciption for a piece of property without a deed even if in bad faith is 30 years--that is, if you possess the property without a deed, and without interruption for 30 years, then you can claim ownership of it.......

If you have a deed that gives you the property by mistake and you possess it then the prescriptive period is 10 years....see Civil Code Articles 3473 through 3488..

Read more
Answered on 6/10/08, 8:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Louisiana