Re: Recently Separated
Believe it or not, missed payments since January is
not all that big a deal from the mortgage company's
point of view. Don't get me wrong, they want to
start getting the income stream going again, but I
have seen mortgage company's hesitate for up to three
years before even begining foreclosure proceedings.
The reason for telling you that is to let you know
that your situation may not be all that hopeless.
But you do have a number of issues to deal with. If
your name is on the mortgage and the house goes to
foreclosure, since there is no equity in it there will
very likely be a difficiency judgment filed against
you. They'll come after you because your husband
is already getting bankruptcy protection.
Whether you want the house or not, you really need
to get proactive about this now. If you want the
house, talk to your lawyer and see if he can't work
something out for you. If he doesn't deal with
bankruptcy then ask him to associate with someone
who does for this matter so that you know what to
do next.
Since it's probably not too late to try to work something
out, the sooner you get things rolling the better.
But I wouldn't wait too long. When your husband filed
for bankruptcy he received an automatic stay which
will prevent the house from being foreclosed upon,
assuming that the foreclosure had not yet been
completed. If that's the case, then the mortgage
company will doubtless file a motion to lift the
stay and you need to get involved while all that
legal manuvering is still going on.
Good luck to you.