Re: how to trademark
There are important issues involved with starting a business that you should be aware of and the assistance of an experienced tax/business law/intellectual property attorney will yield value to your business greatly in excess of the professional fees/costs:
(1) Formation of a business involves important business law issues (choice of business entity, business and tax incentives available to certain business entities, business finance options, etc.)
(2) Federal and MD tax issues need to be carefully considered in choosing the optimal form for your business (corporation, partnership, limited liability company, etc.)
(3) Intellectual property issues need to be carefully worked through to provide your business with protection for the trademark of the name and logo (Preliminary Federal Trademark Register search, U.S. State Trademark Register search, and common law search (Dun & Bradstreet Business Directory, Thomas Register, etc.)). An attorney can provide the following to you: an evaluation/consultation concerning the mark, a recommendation as to classifications for the mark, and preparation/filing of the trademark application and follow-up interaction w/USPTO personnel as necessary while the application is being reviewed and processed by USPTO.
Please contact me if you would like to discuss further--I would be pleased to help you.
www.beatsonlaw.com