Maryland  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
5/25/03, 2:33 pm

Legal Question


Creditor's Rights in a Bankruptcy Filing

What rights does a creditor have when a person files Chapter 7? Are persons suppose to be unable to pay their debts in order to file bankruptcy? I won a judgement and the person file for bankruptcy - Chapter 7.(I'm sure only to avoid paying me the money owed)Is there any way at all I can collect on this judgement. He has no assets, and he does not have any real monthly debts, i.e. mortgage payment, car payment, child support etc. Since he is employed - and could pay the judgment, how is he allowed Chapter 7? Will he have to prove to the bankruptcy court that he is unable to pay the judgment?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search