Maryland  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
1/12/06, 7:10 pm

Legal Question


Breach of Contract - Job incomplete

My mom hired a contractor to reconstruct a driveway on a piece of undeveloped land.He requested pmt in full, $2000, for his svcs. He worked approx. 3 hrs the day she paid him and then claimed he had to come back another day to complete the job. He never did. After several unsuccessful attempts to contact him, by chance, mom ran into him at a local gas station and he claimed he was working on another job but would return to complete the work. After weeks of nothing, I called him. Now, he claimed that a neighbor had harrassed him and he would be happy to finish the job if he got permission from the neighbor. I explained permission from him to do work on my property was not necessary and asked that he return. He ignored the request so we filed a complaint with the state LLR. The administration claimed it was not w/in their jurisdiction since the work was not to an existing dwelling. So who regulates licensed bobcat services? He now claims the job was completed.Our last resort was to take the case to small claims court, and I hoped to speak on her behalf,but, since my mother was listed as the sole plantiff, only she was able to speak. She speaks broken english and could't adequately defend her case and lost.Any suggestions?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search