Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/07/02, 6:03 pm

Legal Question


debt and collections

I am engaged to a man who does not have the assets I do. He does not file income tax (I do) and has a history of not paying his bills. I have an AAA credit report and own 2 properties, one with him, that when we refinanced I had to get the mortgage in my name only, since he couldn't provide previous tax filings. I am wondering, if we get married, am I going to be liable for his debts, and can the IRS seize my properties to satisfy his debts? Is there some way that I can circumvent this problem? He owns his own successful business but is not up on bookkeeping. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search