Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
obligation
My daughter owes approx. 3000 to a credit card company. She is unable to work with her only income being a social security disability check, she has no property or savings. She is manic depressive and is under the care of a psychiatrist.Her health care of provided by Medicare and Medicade. Her mother and I provide her a place to stay all of her money goes to pay utilities, food necessities etc. We subsidize her when necessary but no money is left for payment to this company. She has notified the original credit company in 2003 that she can not pay anything on the debt; a company recently purchased the debt and is now attempting to collect. I believe this to be an unsolicited and unsecured credit card? I think she accepted this card in one of her weak moments. I do not dispute the validity of the debt but her mother and I refuse to accept any responsibility and will not pay anything toward this debt. From what I have read based on the US Code Collection there are little they can do since she has nothing they can attaché. Am I correct in my assumption?


