Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/11/05, 5:57 pm

Legal Question


Receiving letter from debt collector even though paying on bill

Does a hospital have the right to send a bill that you are paying on to a debt collector? I owed a hospital $474.81. I paid two monthly payments of $100.00 and now owe $274.81. I did not receive a bill in July and I always know when something is due by where I put my bills. If a bill had been sent I would have paid another $100.00 in July. And then in August would have paid in full. But they sent it to a debt collector because they want the total amount in full. I thought that as long as you are paying or attempting to pay a bill they could not do this. They did this once before amd I sent my payments to the debt collector, but even though I had been paying the hospital and then paid the collector in full and they still send it in to credit reporting agencies and it appears as a debt to be collected as though I hadn't been paying on it at all.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search