Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
What Can I do?
Six years ago I bought a car with my wife in the State of Maryland. Two years later, she moved out taking the children and moved to Florida. Shortly afterwards the car broke down and has not been driven since. Making a new life for myself in the State of Florida, I have been sending her child support which is over 25% of my monthly gross wages. I have been unable to make the payments on the vehicle. It still sits in my back yard, dry-rotting and deteriorating daily. I can't sell it or fix it. Now the lender has contacted me and threatens judgment. Can they attach my wages or compel the sale of my home which I own as joint tenants with my girlfriend? Thank you for any advice you could give.


