My ex boyfriend use my address when he was arrested. He hasn't lived here in 2 years. The obtain a warrant & searched my home. They found a little marijuana but it was not in relation to him. The police did not arrest me but can they do so at a later date? If so, how many days do they have to charge me? I live in PG County.
2 Answers from Attorneys
Anyone might be charged with a crime, regardless of whether he or she has in fact broken the law. There is no statute of limitations for an offense that carries more than a year imprisonment. Whether the state is barred from charging you depends on what the state charges. You might also challenge whether the warrant was valid. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you evaluate the prosecution's case, any defenses that you might have, and any plea offer that might be made, so that you can decide whether to go to trial. Consider seeking a confidential consultation.
They really have a year to charge you, but if they're going to do it, it will rarely take that long. They COULD get a warrant for you, but that's extremely unlikely. If you were to get charged, 99% of the time it would come as a summons, meaning you'd get served with papers to appear in Court.
Related Questions & Answers
Can someone who was assaulted in their own home be prosectued if they used excessive... Asked 8/20/13, 2:53 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
I was in a domestic violence relationship and left three years ago. I have had no... Asked 8/13/13, 6:30 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
My husband was sentenced to life suspend all but 40 years with 2 years probation 1st... Asked 8/07/13, 11:23 am in United States Maryland Criminal Law
My son was arrested for a drug offense. We are working our way through the process.... Asked 8/06/13, 7:46 am in United States Maryland Criminal Law
My cousin put me down as a reference for a job he applied for. During my meeting... Asked 8/02/13, 2:43 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law