I was cited in Maryland for a under age possession of alcohol charge (I am 18 years old). This will be my second charge, my first being in my home state, Virginia, in which was dropped to a traffic offense following my completion of community service and probation in February. I called the district court office today and they had told me that my offense was not civil but a criminal offense. My question is does Maryland handle subsequent mip of alcohol charges as a civil offense or criminal offense?
2 Answers from Attorneys
Your citation or charge paper should indicate whether the charge is jailable. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you evaluate the prosecution's case, any defenses that you might have, and any plea offer that might be made, so that you can decide whether to go to trial. Consider seeking a confidential consultation.
They could charge it either way. If you provide me with the details, I can look it up.
Related Questions & Answers
In the state of Maryland what does the term criminal assignment mean in a criminal... Asked 9/07/13, 5:58 am in United States Maryland Criminal Law
My ex boyfriend use my address when he was arrested. He hasn't lived here in 2... Asked 8/22/13, 2:08 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
Can someone who was assaulted in their own home be prosectued if they used excessive... Asked 8/20/13, 2:53 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
I was in a domestic violence relationship and left three years ago. I have had no... Asked 8/13/13, 6:30 pm in United States Maryland Criminal Law
My husband was sentenced to life suspend all but 40 years with 2 years probation 1st... Asked 8/07/13, 11:23 am in United States Maryland Criminal Law