Legal Question in Criminal Law in Maryland

In the middle of a Jury deliberating this trail, the Jury asked the Judge "What is the definition of a crime?" The Judge told them to figure it out themselves because he was not giving them any books to define a crime.

Question: Is this grounds for a mistrial on the count of the Jury not evening knowing what a crime is but yet they convicted someone of a crime.......

Asked on 11/14/13, 10:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Welch William L. Welch, III Attorney
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not necessarily. Perhaps there might be other bases for appeal.

Read more
Answered on 11/14/13, 1:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Maryland

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now