Maryland | DUI Law
Legal Question
Hi
My son is charged with DUI, and rightly so. He will be pleading guilty. He was involved in an accident, and hit another car head-on. The woman's foot was injured and she needed surgery. We found out today she has retained a lawyer and plans to sue. His insurance company said they would evaluate his assets.
He owns nothing. He rents with roommates, his car is now totaled, and he makes about 30,000 a year gross. His most valuable possession is his laptop. So he really has very little. I'm guessing he'll be found guilty in the lawsuit. Will they garnish his wages? If so, do they take into account his need to live and eat and pay the bills he currently has? How long can something like this go on? We just have no idea what to expect.
Thank you


