Maryland | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
My two friends were sleeping lastnight in their dorm room, when they got a knock at the door. It was a policeman and three RA's. The police officer said that he smelled marijuana. Clearly they were not smoking, and the officer just wanted some way to come into the dorm. When the officer went into the room he of course didnt find any marijuana, but did find empty beer cans from nights before. My two friends got citations for underage alcohol possession. Can a police officer give a citation for something that he wasnt looking for in the first place?


