Maryland | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Insurance Settlement
What amount am I entitled to in an Insurance Settlement according to Maryland Law? I was hit from behind. The insurance company paid over $8,000 to have my vehicle repair but it still has issues. They made me an offer to cover my medical bills but sent a nasty letter stating it was a doubtful claim.
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Insurance Settlement Automobile insurance companies are notorious for underpaying claims. There are a number of damages that you may be entitled to received and these vary based on the facts of your case. I assume that the $8,000 was paid through your policy. If my assumption is incorrect, then it appears that an "at-fault" determination was made in your favor. Even if you have an "at-fault" determination in your favor, there is much that an attorney can do to enhance your recovery.
There are subrogation issues, underinsured claims, PIP payments, release from suit notices, and a host of other matters that a layman simply cannot effectively handle. And the insurance company knows this.
The amount that you spend for an attorney's contingency fee is often offset by an enhanced settlement. Moreover, by hiring an attorney, you'll not have to deal with the aggravation and stress as well as unsettled feeling that comes from wondering whether you did the right thing. The main thing to keep in mind is that an insurance company will recognize that an attorney will push for alternate channels of remedy that a layman may not even be aware of. Also, a competent attoreny is what you need, do not be dazzled by the claims of attorneys that profess high rates of recovery. These attorneys tend to cherry pick cases and thus they minimize work and maximize revenue.
If you are looking for a competent attorney who will work for your case, consider contacting me. I am available at (410) 799-9002.
G. Joseph Holthaus III, Attorney-at-Law gjholtattorney@netscape.net |
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Insurance Settlement If you have any amount of medical bills to accompany an $8,000.00 property damage claim then the only issue is whether the other driver was clearly at fault. The fact that you were struck from the rear obviously suggests that the following driver was at fault. However, such is not always the case. I would need more facts to evaluate that part of your matter.
Please know that insurance adjusters are professionals that are trained specifically to deal with these issues. Although it is possible to handle such matters on your own, the truth is that you are probably going to leave more money on the table by going it alone without counsel, than you will spend on attorneys fees with a contingent fee lawyer.
The Bottom line is that unless you've already had attorneys evaluate the case negatively for you, it really doesn't make sense to be a "do it yourselfer" on this type of issue.
In the end, you will benefit by having competant legal counsel at least evaluate your case. I urge you have this done by one of the better plaintiff firms and/or attorneys.
My own firm is one of the most highly regarded and successful firms in the D.C. region. Visit our web site at JGLLAW.COM. Give me a call if you would like to chat for a few minutes -- note that my firm's success makes us rather selective on cases that we accept. However, I would be happy to chat with you, and if it sounds like you have a good case but not quite the type that we accept, I will at least be able to make sure that you are referred to other experienced counsel.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 (301) 220-2200 fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Joseph Greenwald & Laake Pa
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 72
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


