Maryland  |  Employment Law

question bubble
1/27/06, 8:12 pm

Legal Question


Donations/Employee Conflict

I am investigating a case involving a complaint from an employee. Earlier this year a supervisor's husband suddenly died. The Branch decided to get together to purchase flowers. One employee decided that they did not want to donate. This created some internal office dynamics. The employee went to the Director and complained. When the supervisor returned she heard about the conflict and brought the employee in to discuss what had happened. This resulted in the employee stating that she did not kill her husbad and you know the rest. It went down hill from here. My queston is this. My investigation held the supervisor at fault. I based this on the fact that I don't think the superviosor had any bases to call an employee in to discuss a non work related issue. Moreover, because she was involved I thought she should have recused herself.

I was hoping that you could point me to some Federal Case law to support my position. I feel that because of some political dynamics that my decision wil have some push back because the supervisor is well liked and the employee is a problem employee but right is right


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search