Maryland  |  Employment Law

question bubble
6/30/02, 11:45 pm

Legal Question


Employment Promotional Testing Discrimination

I am a police officer involved in my Department's Sergeant Promotional Process. My 8 year old son came down with the chicken pox, and subsequently exposed me to the virus. I have never had it, and had to report the exposure to my job. My Department's Infection Control Office drew blood and discovered I had no antibodies to the virus. They subsequently put me on a 10-21 day no public contact quarantine. Needless to say I would miss the skills assessment phase of testing for Sergeant. I contacted my FOP, who in turn contaced Personnel, and then the testing consultant. They told me no contingencies were in place, and I would not be able to complete the testing process. I missed the last phase because of this. Do I have any legal recourse, due to the circumstances of my inability to attend? Does my Department or the testing consultant have a responsibility to ensure that I was able to compete? What are my options? Should I file suit? I thank you for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search