Maryland  |  Employment Law

question bubble
12/27/08, 1:10 am

Legal Question


overtime at a restaurant

I have been managing a restaurant for the past 5 months as an hourly employee. There is no General Manager at the restaurant, so i assume some of the responsibilties of that position. Over these past 5 months, I've accumulated about 160 hours of overtime, for which i have not been paid. I was wondering about the legality of not being paid overtime. I've heard that witholding overtime pay is illegal in most cases, but sometimes does not apply on certain occasions. Is my employer legally bound to pay me overtime pay?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search